Firewood OK to burn @ 22-26%?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wood-fan-atic

Minister of Fire
Oct 4, 2010
Long Island, NY
Hey all. Ive been burning for 15 years in my hand-me-down large Dutchwest Catalytic. She was starting to get some body leaks, so a few weeks ago I purchased a new insert made by Stove Builders Intl. under the "Flame" name-brand. She burns pretty sweet, but I was wondering if anyone is familiar with burning slightly above 20% ( 22-26) MC hardwood ( mostly oak, some cherry,ash) in this type of insert?

How are you measuring?

The birch I am burning is about that with a fresh split in the center and while it's burning "ok" I think it would do much better if it had another year to dry.

I have a moisture meter- I split a 6" wide piece , and take measurement from fresh split

.........but I have about 4 1/2 cords c/s/s last February and now most of it is down to 18-22%. Will my insert still crank @ near max efficiency with some 24-27% mixed in? Anyone experience would be greatly apprieciated !!! Thanks!

The problem you have with not properly seasoned wood is that it is hard to get started burning and therefore you get lots of smoke and gas effect. This is what causes creosote in the chimney and is one of the worst things for any wood burner to have to handle. Once the initial fire is going, there is still a battle to be won but is usually lost. That said, plenty of folks do burn their wood like this. Probably the best way to burn such fuel is to maybe add just one split on top of some good wood and burn the fire plenty hot.