Firewood size for Jotul F400?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sd303

Dec 4, 2007
central NJ
Newbie here, I am in the process of ordering seasoned firewood for the first time. Most places offer a cord of 16 to 18 inch wood or a cord of 14 inch and under. The manual states a maximum of 20 inches. I am a first time burner and do not want to buy the incorrect size wood. Will 16 to 18 inch wood be too tight inside the firebox and make managing the fire more difficult? On a side note, most prices I'm getting for a cord of seasoned oak and cherry wood are between $175-$200, plus delivery. Anyone from NJ/NY area paying the same?

16-18" will be just right. I squeaked in some 21" logs in the Castine once in a while by placing them diagonally.

Be sure the wood is seasoned when you get it. If you don't know the difference, have a friend that knows the difference by feel be there upon delivery. Or invest in a cheap moisture meter and split open a few logs to test when you get the wood (don't let them dump the entire load until you are satisfied). Try to buy from an established seller that values his reputation. At this time of the year it's worth paying a bit more for wood that is for certain the right size and ready to burn.