First chimney clean with new set up.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HJsimpson

Burning Hunk
Apr 17, 2011
NE Indiana
Today it was to warm to burn so i decided to see how dirty the chimney was. Ive been starting a fire with a cold stove almost everynight through the week then keep it going all weekend.
This is an all new setup with 33 feet of new class A and about 4 feet of single wall pipe. Im still learning the new stove and with the warmer weather i have done about everything wrong at least once. Too much wood, not enough air, a couple of smoldering burns, filled basement with smoke twice and tested smoke alarms. I am starting to get the hang of it now but not there completely yet.
So this is what i got with my sooteater today. It was about 3 times what is in the pics until i pulled pan up from cleanout and the wind blew it out.
Id say around a 1/2 to 3/4 of a cup total with about half of it being a little shiny. I dont think it was to bad, what do you guys think?

Attachments

• 2011-11-13_10-42-12_172.jpg
    2011-11-13_10-42-12_172.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 267
  • 2011-11-13_10-42-34_933.jpg
    2011-11-13_10-42-34_933.jpg
    34 KB · Views: 254
hey thats alot better than my sweeping today i had a good 4 whole cups of the black stuff.
and i think i have been only burning steady for 5 weeks (i think maybe more)
good for you mine was much worse