First timer with firewood :/

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer_michigan

Sep 29, 2012
Let start, this is my first year burning. I have a new Napoleon 1402 insert, the fireplace is located about center of the house. This fireplace was open double sided, which stole more heat that it put out. I have a lined insulated pipe, I have what is called salt box house with a loft. My house is 24 x 36, I have used it a few times, I really don't have a draft problem it drafts good I have found I just start the fire with a flash add wood and about 15 minutes later I close the draft. How many pieces of wood should I put in at one time? Can you stuff it to the top with wood? My friend said she thinks there is too much draft, because he said there should not be so much flame. If I full the inset half way full it lasts about 3 hrs, I am heating with ash right now. What do I need to get a 8 hr burn?

Fill her up...more fuel will equal more burn time.