Fiskars Super Splitter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tbuff

Feeling the Heat
Dec 7, 2007
Central NJ
Hello~

How do you know its time to sharpen your Super Splitter? Do you use the Fiskars Axe Sharpener? Any tips would be great. I love this Axe and want to make sure I take proper care of it.

Let me say up front I am not an expert, but I have a Fiskars and the ax depends on it's sharpness. Depending on the type of wood and amount of wood you may have to sharpen pretty regularly but only you can say when it ain't cuttin' it ;-) .

I don't have it but I want the fiskars sharpener, seems like good idea to me. A couple passes before you start in each day just to keep the edge up.

I have the fiskars sharpener and wasn't impressed with it. Worked great the first few times but then the teeth soon wore off the sharpening wheel and it's about worthless now.

I realize it is warranted and may take them up on replacing it.

Others have said they really like theirs. I don't know if their axes get less use or if I received a bad sharpener.

At the end of the day, a careful hand and a bench grinder sharpen mine just fine.

pen

I rarely sharpen my super splitter. It does depend on a good edge, but it doesn't have to be super sharp.

I use the Fiskars sharpener before each splitting session. It works very well and takes less than a minute.

Very happy with the sharpener -- use it before each session. Also very happy with the Fiskars, which over the couple of weeks has enabled me to split some really big Irene oak rounds without using wedges. Amazing what it will do.