Frustrated.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

schortie

Nov 6, 2008
michigan
We had a VC defiant nc installed a couple weeks ago. Over the past few days, I have read nearly every post on everburn and VC stoves. I understand that there is a learning curve to this stove, and that I am brand new to wood burning stoves, but after reading threads for three days, and even watching the videos on everburn, I thought for sure tonight I was going to achieve the everburn and was even excited for the challenge. I built up the coal bed for over an hour and a half, got the stove to about 550 - on a magnetic, stove-top thermometer, then added three 4-6 inch, well seasoned oak splits. I allowed the splits to burn for about ten minutes and closed the damper. I didn't hear the rumble spoken of in many posts and checked the emissions from the chimney - a steady stream of smoke. I waited about twenty minutes to see if the everburn would kick in; it didn't. I opened the damper and rearranged the splits - hoping to allow a clearing to the back of the stove; I let them burn a little more. I closed the damper and heard a small rumble for a minute, then nothing but the pinging of the stove. There was still smoke from the chimney - a steady plume. After the first "load" burned to coals, I repeated the process - no rumble, still smoke from the chimney. I was too sweaty from sitting in front of the stove to continue.
After nearly five hours of fretting, checking, looking, listening, poking, and burning, burning, burning, I am pretty frustrated.