GARN standby loss?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

foxt

Jun 16, 2008
Hudson Valley, NY
Since I have been running a WHS 2000 flat-out for two months, I haven't had a good chance to assess how much standby heatloss I have, until this week. Since I have been scratching my head with the short circuit issue that I've posted about, I was doing some rework yesterday and I didn't pull any heat out of the GARN. Over the course of about a 12 hour period, I lost somewhere between 5-7 degrees in the tank (depending on which sensor/gauge I read, I have three monitoring the tank). Tank temp started around 135, and I think the ambient air temp range was 25-32 over that same time period.
If I extrapolate, I could be losing as much as, if not more than, 10-15 degrees over the course of an average winter day just from the tank, which was a surprise. And since I try to go as high as 200*, I've got to be losing even more than that 10-15 when I am at higher temps.