Gathering....

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Heem

Dec 13, 2008
Connecticut
So this is my first year with the woodstove, and I'm now noticing what I'm sure all of you notice... Downed trees close to the road. Everywhere I look it's all I see now, ha. Mostly on land that isn't obviously somebody's yard. My question to you guys that gather your own wood.. What's the ettiquite here? Now of course, if it's in some guys front yard, It's proper to ask permission.. but when you can't tell who owns the land by the virtue of it just being "in the woods"... What gives, do you just go and get it, or let it rot?

Let it rot, or risk getting shot.

I've always asked. I know it can be a difficult when you have no idea who owns the property. I just wouldn't feel comfortable cutting on a tree not knowing if the owner intended to use it. Every tree I have asked for has been given to me though.

Property records and maps are available online here. Maybe you have something similar.

Heem said:
So this is my first year with the woodstove, and I'm now noticing what I'm sure all of you notice... Downed trees close to the road. Everywhere I look it's all I see now, ha. Mostly on land that isn't obviously somebody's yard. My question to you guys that gather your own wood.. What's the ettiquite here? Now of course, if it's in some guys front yard, It's proper to ask permission.. but when you can't tell who owns the land by the virtue of it just being "in the woods"... What gives, do you just go and get it, or let it rot?