Getting wood stove - now a ? about the oil furnace and the future

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

joefrompa

Minister of Fire
Sep 7, 2010
SE PA
Hi all,

Getting my Lopi Republic 1750 installed in a few weeks. This is my first wood burning stove, though I grew up around them somewhat. On top of that, I just bought this home (single family) and I've never used oil before. Only a newer gas furnace, and I never ever had that thing serviced (worked great too!)

My intention is to heat my house with this stove. In SE PA, this is probably going to be fairly easy with a well-insulated home with plenty of air movement via ceiling fans and such.

Nonetheless, I am sure I will be burning some oil from time to time.

My hope is to burn only about 75-100 gallons per winter of #2 heating oil to supplement the wood burning stove. So here are my questions:

1. If I burn only 100 gallons per winter, do I need to service this thing every year with a new injector nozzle, oil filter, etc.? To me, it seems like all of those parts wear based upon actual oil usage, not time schedule. So I'd think I could get 3-4 years out of each.

2. What should a 10-15 year old oil furnace cost to service by a professional company not operating under a contract?

3. I might suck it up and do the service myself. I'm not super handy, but I work on cars and I have an in-family expert. Any recommendations on where to buy the replacement parts?

Thanks all,

Joe