Got some white oak yesterday...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GAMMA RAY

Minister of Fire
Jan 16, 2011
PA.
I was doing testing on one of my regular patients last week and he overheard me talking about ordering wood. He said I sell seasoned wood. I was surprised and asked the price etc. He said I don't sell by the cord but by bundles, but not bundles the size like those at lowe's and other stores. He said for 7 large pcs $2.50. Well me being a newbie I did not know if that was a rip off, so I blew him off.

Well yesterday I decided to go to his place and pick up a few bundles for the hell of it, just to see how white oak burns. Well, I told him I would take 4 bundles. He brought the wood out, put it in my trunk and he said I'll be back for the rest. I could not believe it because there were 2 bundles in the trunk and I thought there is no way I could fit any more in there. The trunk was full!! The pieces are freakin huge!!!

So I have been burning it and wow, I am liking it. It burns hot and very well. Being a newbie I don't know a lot about wood so I like to experiment with different types so I can learn. Does anyone burn white oak??? Well, I spent 5 bucks for a trunk load of seasoned oak. Some may say rip off but I now know how white oak burns.