GPS Navigation System

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jj1949

Aug 12, 2008
ND
Hi All....was wondering if someone could give me advice on what type of GPS would be a wise choice for me. I plan on taking a trip to Florida within the next couple weeks and would like a reliable system that can help me make this trip a little less worrisome. I'm not good at directions and don't know what I should be looking at. Eye sight isn't that great either so voice recognition and sound would be nice. Anyone out there have one or know of what would be a good choice for me. Thanks

Do a search - we had a thread not long back on picking a GPS system - IIRC it was just before Xmas - someone was looking for gift ideas...

Gooserider

i ve used garmin and tom tom. for the mony i like tom tom. ut if money was not a problem id go with garmin ONLY because in NC tom tom goes by secondary road number instead of the road name an you can barely see the number on the signs. As soon as i get out of nc its great. Saved my rear in springfield ill several times.

Get one that talks and uses road names I have a nexstar and it works fine but the updates and detail software are lacking.
The Garmin would be my choice with uprates detail city maps and even out of country maps available to download for maximum use of the GPS.

It's not so great when on a newer road mine announces "you have left the road please make a u turn at the next available spot and return to the road".