Harman P61A 5 Blink Error

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

camber2

Dec 3, 2010
Maine
I've been running this stove without major problems for 5 years since I purchased it new. The past few days I have been getting the 5 blink error. It has gotten a major cleaning in the past few days and that hasn't helped. I bought a new brand of pellets and they have turned out to be pretty rotten. It's getting pretty cold here and I'd really like to to start working again.

"5 Blinks (In Igniter Auto. Mode Only): Indicates that
the unit has failed to light within the 36 minute start
cycle. To reset - Turn Mode Selector to "OFF", then turn
to either mode again."

If this don't do it, your igniter may be on the way out... if you're getting it after the fire is lit and established, then the esp probe is on the way out. I'm banking on the igniter.

camber2 said:
....It has gotten a major cleaning in the past few days and that hasn't helped. I bought a new brand of pellets and they have turned out to be pretty rotten......

Did the "rotten" pellets ignite at all? If so, did you try buying a different brand of "good" pellets to try?

If not, I agree w/ summit.

I had (have) the same problem. I noticed that whenever it was blinking it was because my igniter bin was full of crap that needed to be vacuumed out.