Harman PF-100 flame shape and behavior

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mlerley

Newbie here. Just installed a new Harman PF-100 pellet furnace and I'm loving it. I am concerned about the flame however -- I recently helped my father-in-law install his new PF-100 and my flame acts considerably different from his. His flame angles about 45 degrees to the left and hits directly on the heat exchanger, and looks a lot like the flame videos I've seen on this site. Mine, however, goes straight up from the burn pot. This doesn't seem right to me. Everything seems to be connected correctly, and the whole system works. The flame just doesn't seem to be quite right. I've attached a video.

Is there anything obvious that could cause this? It seems like maybe there should be air coming through the hopper area somewhere to force the flame over, but I can't tell. Thoughts? Thanks!

How different is your venting compared to his? Vent(draw/draft) have a large effect on what happens inside. If his is angled away I assume more draft. Yours being straight, I assume less draft.

His is a short run with one 90 into a chimney. Mine is direct vent, also with one 90. Attached are photos of my installation. Is there something I can do to adjust the draft? I know the manual says there's no high draft adjustment, and I don't think the low draft applies here (does it? I really have no clue). Can the speed of the combustion fan be adjusted? Does that impact it?

Attachments

• 11 - 1 (1).jpg
    11 - 1 (1).jpg
    38.3 KB · Views: 682
  • 11 - 2 (1).jpg
    11 - 2 (1).jpg
    39.7 KB · Views: 665