Hearthstone Heritage, I think I might be starving...........

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dkuntz413

Jul 12, 2008
eastern Long Island
I have been using my new hearthstone Heritage for almost two months, and have been watching its heat output gradually diminish. My Chimney and cap are fine. My wood is fine. The stove is running now, and if it wasn't I would open the ash pan door and take a look inside, which is something I've never done as I just shovel the ashes out. If the door is open a crack to allow air in, the stove roars. As soon as the door is closed, the stove calms right down and has a hard time pushing past 300 on the stack. So, does anybody here have an idea why I'm not getting the air that I used to? Could it be ashes blocking my air flow that I can't see? Could there be an obstruction up front where the air comes in through the small round hole? The air control lever disengaged or somehow not opening all the way. I will definitely have a look inside the ash pan door next, but was hoping someone could help me with this before we hit the single numbers on Thursday. This has to be an air flow problem.
Thanks
Doug

This may or may not be a silly question, but do you have an OAK (Outside Air Kit) installed?

And when you say "If the door is open a crack to allow air in, the stove roars." - do you mean the ash pan door? or the side loading door? Or (I can't imagine...) the front glass door?

And when you say "the stove calms right down and has a hard time pushing past 300 on the stack" - you're talking surface metal temp of the flue pipe?