Hello from Michigan (pellet pig in training)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

343amc

Feeling the Heat
Nov 23, 2005
West Michigan
Long time reader, forgot that I had registered here years back until I tried to re-register and was told I already existed.

I've been burning pellets since late fall of 2005. My stove was a Horizon Research Eclipse insert I bought in November 2005. I bought it used (obviously) and it served me well. It was too much of a pain in the rear end for the wife to want to use on a regular basis when I was away at work. It did have some quirks, and could be a finicky beast at times, but it ran without major incidents for six seasons. I've since moved it out to the workshop so I can ditch the kerosene heater when I get the urge to do some work out there. A couple months back I purchased a US Stove 6041i. I installed the new insert about a month ago after doing the initial burn in out in the garage so I wouldn't gas the wife and kid out of the house on the first chilly day. So far I'm happy with it. It's a bit noisier than I had hoped, but no worse than the Eclipse was. I did a few minor modifications to it, thanks to the suggestions here and on the iburncorn.com forums. It's not the most attractive stove sold, OK it's borderline ugly, but for the price it does throw some heat.