Hello to all and an interesting question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sawmillman

Jan 22, 2012
central MA.
On January 1 I installed my first pellet stove its an englander pdvc; must say i am very pleased with it no problems at all been running 24/7 put 32 bags in it so far. I have been heating with wood for over 30 years , have a Charmaster forced hot air furnace in basement, but with just my wife and I here now that goes out while we are at work so this seems to be a nice soultion to maintaining a reasonable temp. I did not find this site before my installation , but it has helped with fine tuning this stove and made pellet heat quite interesting to me: so thank you all here who contribute to make this place as informative ; educational and at times comical as it is......
Since the mill i work at supplys NEWP Jafrey plant with sawdust I can buy pellets as an employee at a discount(204/ton) for this reason that is mainly the one I have been using'but i did try a couple of bags of lignetics and those are in my opinion far superior in heat out put just not at $6/ bag. I am hopeful that perhaps this comming couple of months I can find a deal on these... see you have already taught me one of the pellet principles... so i guess my "newbie" question is what are the top 10...in your book? comical or otherwise

Welcome to the Forums.

There are better pellets than others..... Yes......

But each stove, set-up, and individual is different (I like the way they smell) ;-P