help with steel king wood furnace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tobaccogrower

Jan 9, 2010
Suffield Ct
hello everyone. great site! alot of good info and humor here!

i have decided to hook up my steel king forced hot air wood furnace as the primary source of heat in my shop. the furnace has never been fired and has been sitting patiently in my basement for 25+ years waiting to be used. my grandfather bought it and never hooked it up. is this a good boiler? i have other options(wood stove and pellett stove) this is my first time ever using a wood fired furnace. i have no clue how to get this thing to work like a furnace. there are no controls.

the furnace has a small combustion blower and a large convection blower. also a spot to install a water jacket.

my plans are to come out of the back of furnace with a 90*then up 12 inches to my magic heat then 7 feet up to the ceiling where the 6 inch single wall will be expanded to 7 inch. then use a single wall to double wall adapter then i'm using double wall stainless 7 inch all the way out. total run will be about 30 feet. like i said this is going to be in my shop. the first 10 feet is going to be inside the the next 20ish will be outside. does this plan sound ok? do i need to install a berometric damper in the run? if so, where?