Help with Waterford Erin Woodstove pls! (Came with house we bought - little instruction)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kennydewit

Nov 13, 2011
Trent-Severn Waterway, On
Hi All!

I'm new to the Hearth Room, but always a fan of wood heat since I was old enough to know what wood is. Also long time reader, 1st time poster.

So the story goes: We bought a house on a river in the country a few months back and other than electric baseboard, it came with this woodstove. The old lady that owned the place lived here on her own as her husband passed suddenly 10 years ago. Being from Ireland, and afraid of fires, she didn't have much advice on how to operate it. Trouble is, we think its undersized and can't get it to burn properly. Truth is, we're not sure we're doing it right either so we're here to ask!

I've read through some instruction manuals I found online, but its not clear what the primary and secondary dampers are?? I see an ash pan handle/slide, an Air wash knob and a flap on the flue..but no where else do I see any controls. If I only use these three methods, I can't get much of a flue temp (300C). To get a good fire going, I have to crack open the Ash pan door..which they say I shouldn't have to do. Am I missing something?