Hick Leaner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jrcurto

Nov 3, 2009
Southern Connecticut
My neighbor wants this leaner off his property and I am first in line. I will try to winch it down and then approach other safe tactics. I snapped when I saw what I am sure is Shagbark hickory right? Its in the middle of a
White Ash grove, go figure.

Jim

Attachments

• P1013230.jpg
    P1013230.jpg
    134.8 KB · Views: 732
  • P1013228.jpg
    P1013228.jpg
    108.7 KB · Views: 743
Got a white oak that size but leaning from higher in a tree that I have been circling around for four months.

When I was a kid, that would be a fun tree to play on :)
Now that I'm older, be careful ;)

Some real good wood there, looks about 20"diameter or so in the pic.

Looks like a few things at play there...side slope of the hill, the brush and then all that mass up in the air. Great score close to home. Looks bigger than 20" to me. With that size that straight and that long, it might have better uses than firewood.

Great find! If you are careful and know what you are doing, those can be cut down without winching out but if you can get it down first, perhaps it will be better for you. Either way, that is some excellent wood.

I'd say it is Shagbark Hickory. The bark is too shaggy for most other trees. It will be great firewood once you get it down.