House fire caused by strong winds? Huh?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

burnt03

Feeling the Heat
Oct 30, 2011
Peachland, BC, Canada
Saw on the news tonight that a local family lost their home in a house fire. Near the end of the story, the owner pointed to the wood stove and said "the wind was so heavy, the wind blew back into it".

(link here, statement at about 1:35 - http://www.chbcnews.ca/west+kelowna...ith+nothing+after+blaze/6442529668/story.html)

Is this even possible? I'm a straight-up newbie trying to convince my wife that we should buy a wood stove, and a story like that won't help.

"Johnny" sounds like someone looking to pass blame on to anything. Guess he should have listened to his wife.

And I am willing to bet that stove had an interesting install.

burnt03, if you look at my signature line you'll see we have burned wood for a few moons now. We have never had a problem with high winds. We have never had a problem with creosote (well, excepting that one winter when we burned green wood). We have never had a problem with chimney fires.