How much fines is to much?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

huntingbuck101

Apr 8, 2008
Northern MN
Made a vacuum pellet cleaner, like the ones on ebay and ran a 40# bag threw it twice and got a total of 2.5 oz or 5 FL oz of fines.
This is my first year with a pellet stove and would like to know if this excessive. I really rather not clean them If I don't need to.
I should add, the fines are mostly dust very similar to the ash. No small chunks of pellets like you would get from screening.

huntingbuck101 said:
Made a vacuum pellet cleaner, like the ones on ebay and ran a 40# bag threw it twice and got a total of 2.5 oz or 5 FL oz of fines.
This is my first year with a pellet stove and would like to know if this excessive. I really rather not clean them If I don't need to.
I should add, the fines are mostly dust very similar to the ash. No small chunks of pellets like you would get from screening.

The "rule of thumb" i've heard is that up to a teacup of fine per 40 ounce bag is normal. I guess a teacup is 4-6 ounces or so, so i'd say you are fine (no pun intended).
I've been burning pellets for several years now (probably 15 + tons burned) and I have never once done anything to get rid of fines. They go through both of my stoves with no issues.