How much pellets is normal. from a rookie pellet burner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jr8803

Dec 6, 2009
East Berlin, PA
I am a rookie pellet stove owner. I have a Quad Mt. Vernon OE which is about 3 years old, I bought it used. I basically went through the hole stove before the season started cleaning it. Starts up no problems and runs good (I think). So here is the question last night was in the low 30's my stove on a 12 hr burn went through nearly 80 pounds of pellets (hardwood energex). Is this about normal, now I know alot of things come into play such as the condition of my house. I would rate it fair as far as insulation goes, I need to do a little more in the basement where the stove is because its block with nothing over it, I only have about 1/2 of it insulated and its partiatly above ground. So I am looking for some thought from the pellet stove veterans.

Thanks
JP :coolsmile:

Welcome to the forum.