ignorance is... well it just is

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Remmy122

Jan 7, 2011
East NC
Hello All,

Im new to the game, in fact my stove is still in shipping, however I want to start getting wood ready for next year. I was wondering if theres any suggestions out there for how to find wood. The city will give me all I want when they take a tree down, but they arent taking too many down right now. Ive seen a couple houses around with logs (begging to be split and stacked) but not too sure on how to approach the home owner.

Also I have to take down a pecan tree for a friend, Its dead and falling so its looking like the first victim of my new saw, Its covered in Ivy. Any suggestions on how to remove the Ivy to get it ready to burn?

If covered in Poison Ivy I'd suggest don't even touch it. Other Ivy I'd be leary of how it might be affecting the lean & fall. How big is the Pecan? If it's sizeable I'd walk away for a first time fell. If the tree is long dead the limbs are likely to drop off when it starts to fall. Possibly on your head. If the trunk is rotten it'll be unpredictable when felling.
Search around here in the woodshed for scrounging strategies. Craigslist, ringing doorbells, spreading the word among friends & neighbors, chatting up tree service guys and hydro clearing crews all can work. I mostly just keep my eyes open for fallen trees and follow the sound of a chainsaw whenever I hear one.