Jotul F500 Oslo - 1st report

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jotul8e2

Minister of Fire
Feb 2, 2008
Ozarks
Our new Jotul Oslo is, even as I type, heating our new house.

I've been burning wood for 30 years and have experience with fireplaces, steel stoves, soapstone stoves, and cast iron stoves and this is the best one yet!

I had a bit of a concern that the radiant heat through the glass would be too much for our family room sitting area - not a problem.

Although centrally located in the family room, I was afraid that the stove would not move heat through the house (our floorplan is not open, but we do have large openings off the family room to the kitchen, front hall/stairway, and bedrooms, which helps) - and it seems far more even than I could have dreamed, aided no doubt by the large ceiling fan in the family room.

I thought the heat might just run right up the stairs and overheat that 600 sq. ft. Nope, its 74 deg. down here, 72 deg. up there.

I was concerned that I might not be able to hold coals overnight for morning startup - and this one is going to take a bit of care. It looks like if I load up a couple of whole logs at 10:00 pm and throttle it back I can juuusst barely make it to 6:00 am with enough left to get the fire going.