log splitter adjustment..."stumped" please help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

neversinksmith

Nov 29, 2010
southern catskills
hey gang. im new to log splitters and the forum. here's my issue. log splitter bogs down under load. i realize it should bog a little but it seems to be getting worse. so i searched the forum and found out that there is an adjustment screw on the actuator. i dont know the make/model of splitter. think it was built in someones garage. anyway i was told that the adjustment was under the round cap on the front side of the actuator. i took off the 4 hex screws on the cap and under this was a large spring. the same guy that told me that this is where the screw is. he also told me i could adjust w/ the motor running. needless to say, i recieved a face full of hydr. fluid when i operated the handle. shut engine down, cleaned the fluid from my face and reinstalled cap. then i found the adjustment screw under under the round topped bolt on the actuator (not really sure thats what that part is called, the part w/ the handle that opperates piston) now i know i should have counted how many turns out from fully tightened, but i didnt. so i messed w/ the adjustment screw a bit and the bog seems to be a bit less noticable. however fluid is leaking from the front of the actuator in the area where i removed the 4 hex bolts initially. so, my 2 questions are as followed: how many turns out from fully tightened should the adjustment screw be, and second, can i use a rtv sealer to seal my new leak or is the leak caused by an improperly adjusted adjustment screw,