log splitter??????

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Greg Ray

Nov 20, 2005
TX
Whats the best electric log splitter on the market that will last for years????? Thanks GREG

Hi Greg Ray. Lots of relevant threads on this topic if you want to search. In short, the Ryobi splitter seems to have taken over in a storm of popularity. However, HF apparently sells a decent one, and there was another brand which slips my mind that I believe Elk had a line on back east... Iron Horse maybe?

In any case, I'm no expert. Just thought I'd say hello. Others will chime in soon enough.

-Kevin

Ramsplitter 12 or 16 hp its a real splitter its not the foreign imports. Not that they don't serve the task in hand they do a decent job working within their capabilities
The DR splitter is another good choice but more expensive but customer support is the best of the lower tonage electric ones

Mine looks like this

Attachments

• 11-2 011.jpg
    11-2 011.jpg
    89.2 KB · Views: 611
I was surprised at the number of people singing the Ryobi's praises... I thought it looked small and wimpy, but I guess it can deliver the goods, and the price is right. The DR 6 ton splitter is also pretty good. Elk's is great, however it looks pretty massive. Me, I use a 25HP Honda gas powered splitter, works well, price was right.

-- Mike

RYOBI-

Actually, except for Elk's less-than-optimistic comments on the Omega, I don't think we've heard anything bad about any of them.