LP contract Price? They offered $1.85 per gallon. Should I contract or not?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

thz123

Jan 8, 2009
IOWA
I know this is the pellet stove forum, but I am sure a few people on here can advise me. I do have a pellet stove and have 5 tons of pellets in my garage. I use LP to heat my water and to partially heat the house, when I am not at home. Last year from Aug. 1,10 thru March 31,11 I used 492 gallons of LP. My new contract price is $1.85 per gallon. This is the third year using LP, so I am new at contract pricing. Does $1.85 seem like a good price? Should I contract or just pay the market price when the tank is full? What are your opinons?

I paid @ $3/gal about 6 weeks ago. Which is normal for my area. I could only dream of paying $1.85

With crude going down I would think LP prices would follow a little.. Who really knows though!?!

I don't do contracts or prebuys.. just don't likem.. I fill up when I get low. Just like in my truck.

Check out this link for current market prices...

http://www.eia.gov/dnav/pet/pet_pri_wfr_dcus_SIA_w.htm

Same -- I'm paying over $3 a gallon for propane, which is why I'm ditching my propane insert for a pellet insert.

$1.85 seems like a steal.

Here in central IL, I paid $1.95 a gallon last winter. I too think that the price of LP may fall, but I would be very surprised if it falls much from that. If I was offered $1.85, I would fill the tank.