Maine Woods Softwood, Turman Hardwood, Barefoot

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ghandy131

Oct 14, 2011
Central MA
Newbie here and don't no pellet from pallet. Need 2 more ton for the season. Local farmer has above pellets in stock for $279, $285, $299/ton. Had our 10-cpm installed 11/10 and have put through 25 bags of Fireside Ultras with very good results (I think as I have nothing to compare this with). We need to add 2 tons to our original 3 tons, I believe, for the season. Given the choice which would you go for?

They're all good, so throw a dart. (And hope it lands on Turman) :)

Hi Ghandy131, having the same issue myself. Just wanted to add to your list to make your decision more difficult since we're both in Central MA. LOL! Spruce Pointe (Pellets Direct, Uxbridge) and Okanagan (Royal Fireside, Mendon). Both softwood and I heard great things about both. I burned my first bag of Spruce Pointe and they have very little ash and definitely hot. Will try the Okies next and then Barefoot before ordering my next two ton. Also picked up 10 bags of Turmans to try this week. Would like to try some Hamer's and Cubex but haven't been able to find any in MA. That should round out my list of new pellets to try this year. Good luck with your new stove!

i would get 1 ton barefoot & 1 ton turmans .

Only used turmans out of your 3 choices. Second year with 5 tons in garage. Love them

kykel said:
Only used turmans out of your 3 choices. Second year with 5 tons in garage. Love them

Hopefully next year someone around here will be selling them....