Manual chain sharpening

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 13, 2009
Central WI
As seems to be the intro line to many posts lately, I am new at this. I did a search and got a lot hits for electric chain sharpeners but can I get opinions and recommendations on a hand file / guide.

I saw one online (can’t find anymore) where it both sharpened and took down the rake in the same stroke, it was free hand and did not clamp to the bar. Is something I want? I do not do a lot of cutting now and I am not sure how much I will do in the future. I would guess a few cords a year.

Thank you for the help, this site has been very informative.

ChoppingAccountant said:
As seems to be the intro line to many posts lately, I am new at this. I did a search and got a lot hits for electric chain sharpeners but can I get opinions and recommendations on a hand file / guide.

I saw one online (can’t find anymore) where it both sharpened and took down the rake in the same stroke, it was free hand and did not clamp to the bar. Is something I want? I do not do a lot of cutting now and I am not sure how much I will do in the future. I would guess a few cords a year.

Thank you for the help, this site has been very informative.

Just buy Stihl chains that have the hash marks on them - run your file parallel to the hash mark and viola!

I do it all freehand also. I take down the rakers when a sharp chain just doesn't have the bight it used to. When you are learning to sharpen, don't worry about the rakers.

Matt