NC13 chow all free (pic).

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ProjectX

Oct 5, 2009
CT
This is my first year getting lucky with free BTUs. I still have not run my little nc13 24/7 yet but was planning to next year. If i really push my little stove 90% of the time how much will she eat say in 4 months? I know there are many variables but lets say half pine and half wht/red oak good and seasoned maybe 25% and under on the MM. I have been hand splitting with a 8lb maul and taking all I can get for the most part. Here are my stacks to date. On the left under the over hang is pine(for the start of 2012 to give the oak more time) about 2 cords. The stack/cube in the back is also mostly pine ?cords. Other stack/cube is oak ?cords. I still have much more oak to split like 2-3 more cubes like the one in front I have not measured . I just have no clue how much i need but i do know i want all i can get. I am going to try not to use the oak till the year after.

John

Attachments

• post.jpg
    post.jpg
    33.9 KB · Views: 814
I'm still trying to figure out my wood consumption too. I'm figuring on 5 cord a year. As near as I can tell it looks like you got maybe 4 cord. Pat

The over hang is 8'x10' 7'high but not full. the stacks/cubes are about 6'x6'x6'.
I hope i don't burn 5 cords a year I will not have room for 2-3 years wood lol I live in the city. The White cover/tent is 20' long.

Nice little set-up there.
Handy having a variety and choice in what wood to burn.
If you're running a 13, I wouldn't be surprised if you got away only burning 3 cords.