Need Advice On Kingsman

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scarfoot Steve

Nov 12, 2012
Missouri
Hello all,

I've been burning my Napoleon 1400 for several years in my home. I now need advice getting an old Kingsman hearth king up and running in my workshop. The Kingsman had been stored in a old outbuilding that had caught fire and sustained some minor damage. Mainly melted plastic and such on the surface, exposed to high heat and lots of water via the fire dept. It was stored outside this past summer prior to me acquiring it.

After inspection it appears the stove is in solid shape. All welds, hardware, handles, fire brick and such look ok. Wire brush took care of the rust, however minor pitting is visible in some areas.

Questions:
-Anything I should know or check to ensure safe after exposure to fire and weather?
-As the surface is rough, can I use stove black/polish to restore finish instead of high temp paint?
-This stove has an rectangle exhaust outlet located at the rear, so i'm not sure if it was designed as a insert or freestander. It loads via right side, so don't think its designed as insert. A quick search via google didn't produce any adapter from my outlet to a 6" stove pipe....any suggestions.

These are pictures of another Hearth King so everyone can see it...thanks in advance
kingsman_woodstove1.jpgkingsman_woodstove2.jpgkingsman_woodstove.jpg