New to burning pellets!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

turbulator

Dec 2, 2011
Western PA
Glad I found this forum.... I am new to burning pellets - I will explain later on how it came about...there is a bit of a story to it :)

A month ago I installed a St. Croix SCF-050 in my basement next to my heat pump.... Last year our electric bills topped mid to high $400 range....enough of that!!

First few runs of the furnace were on Lowes pellets. The furnace seemed to run very lean on those pellets, and I had to have the draft about 1/2 open.

Fast forward to today. I am now running a different brand of hardwood pellets.... They seem to burn "longer" than the lowes brand. Also - I am running with the draft full open.... I can't seem to run the furnace on its highest heat level - it fills the burn pot and overflows, sooting the window up and makes lazy flames...

I decided to try plumbing outside air into the intake.....it helped a bit, but still this furnace seems to run most efficient at heat level 3, draft full open.

I checked to make sure doors are tightly latched, swept out the inside of the burn area w/ shop vac, keep the ash pan clean.... I may go in and make sure my exhaust is clear....

I also seem to have an issue with air flow. My duct work has quite a lot of static pressure.....from what I have read the air handler on this unit is pretty weak... I am considering putting one in at around 1200 or so scfm to help spread some air around....