Newbie From Australia

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Guys Newbie here, love reading all your topics you guys are so much mre advanced in your heating then we are in Australia.

I currently have electric heating I live in a farm house with 500 acres of woodland so plents of hard wood to burn.

In Australia the wood fires with wetbacks are small and they are used as an nstant type heat for example the boiler holds 50 litres of water once the 50 litres heatd up its pumped to wall radiators NO STORAGE if the fire goes out the heat stops.

I want to hve storage like you guys seem to have.

I have a few questions
that i hope some one can answer

1. I plan to have 1,000 litres of storage which is fed from a 50 kw boiler the water in the tank will be heated from thermosiphon into the tank

1.My questions are do I then pump water from the top of the tank to go into my radiators?
2. how does the water mix inside the tank does it need to be mixed or will hot water keep rising until all the water in the tank is hot?
3. Where would I put the probe in the tank to tell the boiler to stop firing top middle bottom?

Thanks and Gday from Australia.

1. I plan to have 1,000 litres of storage which is fed from a 50 kw boiler the water in the tank will be heated from thermosiphon into the tank

Welcome to " HEARTH" !

Hot Water Storage
For the best results, the use of a heat storage tank is recommended. A properly sized storage tank
can cut wood consumption by as much as 40%. Hot water storage allows the boiler to run at optimum