Newbie here -- can you help ID this Earth Stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cscmc1

Jan 13, 2012
Central IL
God morning, friends -- I have been looking for a decent wood stove for a few weeks, and just ran across this one. I picked it up for what I thought was a very reasonable amount, and hope eventually to use it in a new-build cabin we are saving for (for only occasional weekend use, most likely). From my limited success with searching, this looks to me like perhaps a model 1000; does that sound accurate? Does anyone know much more about this piece? I am excited to try to make use of it, and will be saving up for new stovepipe, heat shields, etc...

Many thanks in advance!

Attachments

• stove1.jpg
    stove1.jpg
    7.8 KB · Views: 9,063
  • stove2.jpg
    stove2.jpg
    11.8 KB · Views: 2,499
Sister-in-law has one, but with a different emblem. Yours is in MUCH better condition than hers.
Seems like the plate on the back of the stove gave me that info., and I had a manual for it at one point (pdf).
It has some kind of control on the back, but hers is so rusted I had a hard time figuring out what it was supposed to do.
Nice size firebox, and we had a couple fires in it, but no control. I told her to quit using it and get a new stove. I hope you have better luck with it than her.
http://woodheatstoves.com/earth-stove-manuals-c-291_171_234.html
HTH

Thanks, PapaDave. Yes, mine has a brass control knob on the right hand side in the back. No model info on the back, though. I'll keep digging; thanks again!