No Vermont Castings Warranties?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

STOVEGUY11

Feeling the Heat
Feb 12, 2008
SOUTHERN CT
I heard from a little bird that Monesson may not warranty anything Vermont Castings purchased up till this past season. Any one here if this accurate?

Welcome to the wonderful world of insolventcy, a legalized way to screw the other guy. I would not be surprised in the least bit. Watch the price on parts for the older units skyrocket as well, the new owners are doing you a favor right? :roll: I work in finance and I see this on the consumer side all the time.

Its bad right now because were just going on the word of the distributors. Problem is, they dont know all of whats going on either. I know eventually it will work its self out, but in the mean time it would be nice to have an answer for people on certain questions that are literally up in the air.

Correct me if I am wrong but I thought the company was sold. If it was not part of the agreement (probably not but could be) then it is not gonna happen. I think it will probably be a case by case basis and that is why they will hike the parts up, giving the end user a 25% discount and in reality making full list. Just my opinion but have seen it over and over in other industries. Its a way to turn a warantee into profit because the new owners are under no obligation.

The minute that bankruptcy was filed every existing stove owner with a warranty in their hand became an unsecured creditor of CFM. A form was available to file unsecured claims and after that it's all over baby.