NPS40 help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ambene

Mar 27, 2011
NH
Hi All, I'm a pellet newbie although have spent the last week searching the internet on Napoleon troubleshooting and interestingly enough, I'm always led back to this site.

If anyone has any suggestions to help with my issue, I'd sure appreciate them. I have a Napoleon NPS40 pellet stove, which I have just loved using. I downloaded the pellet stove manual (I'm a new home-owner and the stove came with) to figure out what I've run into.

My stove doesn't ignite (the ignitor doesn't glow red/orange) and the blower on the left (exhaust blower) blows constantly. I've taken it apart and cleaned it but to no avail.

Anyone have any ideas? I've checked to make sure the 200 degree reset button is fine, I've depressed it as much as seems reasonable but don't want to break it. It's popped out about 1/8-1/4 of an inch and I've pushed on it with about 40lbs of force (more force than I tamp my espresso grind with) but it didn't depress.

Thank you anyone for any assistance!

First of all, welcome to the forum.

By this statement, "I have a Napoleon NPS40 pellet stove, which I have just loved using.", I guess we're to assume that the stove DID start and burn properly at one time?

Did you go through each step in the troubleshooting guide at the back of the manual under this section?

"The ignitor will not
light the pellets
however everything
else in the
heater operates"

imacman said:
First of all, welcome to the forum.