Papa bear stove vent automatic intake question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

poppybear

Nov 17, 2012
HI, I am new to this forum but not to fisher stoves! What a great stove! I was a roofing contractor in the late 80's and had truckloads of wood shake roofing from tear offs. I installed a papa bear fisher with two control nobs in my 700sq ft house. I cut the pipe out of the back and welded it on top and installed it.

That stove would burn a load full of those shakes in 20 minutes if I didn't chock down the intake and I had to tinker with it all the time and sometimes we froze to death (not literally) because the fire didn't last all night.
So I wnet to a stove store in the local community, and the proprietor sold me a control. He told me to remove one of the factory screw controls on the door and install this gadgit he sold that controlled airflow by the heat the stove had. This thing really word great, you could control the fire and never get so hot you had to open the windows. That stove was so tight you could put the fire out by closing the control. and you could bun anything and make the fire last all night. It was like owning a mac instead of a pc.

I would fill that stove up with stacked in shakes and let them burn and they wood literally burn all night! Of course if you opened the door it sounded like you threw Gas in the stove, but I guess that is part of the fun of a tight stove.