Pellet storage and shelf life

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Greg M

Apr 28, 2010
NC
This is my first year using a pellet stove. I picked one up last spring that had been sitting in a hardware store for almost 4 years. It had never been used and I got it for $800. I had to go up to NY to get it but since we have friends near Cleveland I combined it with a visit.

This past spring I added a 10' x 20' section to the shed in my backyard. I really beefed up the flooring system so that it can handle a lot of weight. If I remember correctly it was something like 2x8's with a little less than 5 foot spans spaced at 16" on center.

I have a chance to buy some softwood pellets this summer from a place that's over 120 miles from me. Last summer their price was $145 per ton (current price is $172 per ton for 10 tons). They will deliver for a pretty good price considering the distance. Going by last year's price and their current delivery charge I could get them for a total of $175 per ton if I buy 10 tons. I have someone that will buy 2 tons from me so I'll be left with 8. I can find room to store them but 8 tons should last me about 5 years.

Is there any problem storing them that long? They would be placed on pallets and kept dry but they would be exposed to several hot, often humid summers. I could store maybe as much as 3 tons in conditioned space and use them last if I had to but the other 5 would have to be in the shed for up to 3+ years before they were all burned.