prefab insert help - HI200

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lakeiris

Dec 1, 2010
WI
Hi all,

I could use some advice about upgrading our crappy prefab fireplace. It is so drafty (not the flue) that we have sealed it off with styrofoam at this time.

We have been to several local fireplace dealers/installers and have gotten various advice. Most recommend installing an insert but the different companies don't agree on which will work or whether they should be installed inset in the brick opening or in front of the brick opening. Not being an expert, I don't know who is correct. Our biggest concern in having the job done right and safely, or we won't do it at all. I have also seen some posts here about not using inserts in prefab fireplaces while others seem to say it is ok.

We are looking at the HI200 with blower. Do you think this would work? The installer would put some cerawool insulation around the back of the insert. There would be a full stainless steel liner with insulation.

Any advice would be appreciated!

Attachments

• inside.jpg
    inside.jpg
    40.4 KB · Views: 377
  • brick opening width.jpg
    brick opening width.jpg
    153.9 KB · Views: 363
  • brick opening height.jpg
    brick opening height.jpg
    170.4 KB · Views: 354
lakeiris,
yes you can but you MUST use a approve insert for your ZC and a liner.

You don't list what you ZC you have so not all insert are rated for ZC burners.

You will lose the look of that ZC that's why they are used they look great and are cheap but don't give you any heat for the cost of the wood.