Problem with Whitfield Advantage/Advice on replacement stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jarheadvet

Jan 3, 2011
North central Maryland
Newbie here but I have been reading the posts for a while and find them very informative. I have a Whitfield Advantage pellet stove manufactured in 1993. It has worked well for us for 3 seasons (it came with the house we bought) but now has developed a problem with the burn pot filling with pellets after about an hour. I replaced the gasket in the door and have opened the damper all the way to try to get maximum air in since everything I've read about this points to a lack of combustion air. I have also considered a feed rate problem--is there a way to adjust it. Our control board is basic--one knob for heat output (1 to 5), one knob for the room air fan, a red button to begin the process (turn blowers on) and another switch for the auger to feed.

I am cautious about sinking too much money into this thing since it is 17+ years old. It may have just reached the end of its life. Is there anything else I can do other than that which I have done (cleaned everything, opened damper, cleaned again, replaced gasket, cleaned again). The fans are working (seemingly fine) and the vent was cleaned as well.

I'm considering a Bosca Spirit 500 found on ebay for a very decent price (under 2k with shipping) as a replacement. Are there any other stoves worth looking at that are less than $2200? FYI I have about 1500 sqft of house, rancher style. Thanks in advance to your replies and advice.

Semper Fi

jarheadvet said: