Question about Picking up my Pacific Energy Summit tomorrow

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

plumbertim

Nov 20, 2011
Central Illinois
I'm driving 6 hours each way to get my PC Summit Insert tomorrow. It's my first time transporting one of these inserts.
1. Is there anything that i need to take out other than the bricks from the insert?
2. I've heard the baffle is fragile, does this need to be removed?
And How?
3. Did i miss anything?
Thanks guys

Are you buying from a shop - if so, they should be able to tell you how to remove the baffle. Prolly want to take off the door to reduce weight, and anything else that comes off easily.

plumbertim said:
I'm driving 6 hours each way to get my PC Summit Insert tomorrow. It's my first time transporting one of these inserts.
1. Is there anything that i need to take out other than the bricks from the insert?
2. I've heard the baffle is fragile, does this need to be removed?
And How?
3. Did i miss anything?
Thanks guys

1. The Summit body usually comes in a wooden crate from the factory , so that should help protect the unit some what.
2. As for the bricks they normally come packaged from the maunfacturer inside the summit body & usually there ok. Taking them out when moving them in your home will take off approx 30 pounds from the weight of the stove.
3. If the Summit is an enamel color inspect the unit carefully before taking posession of it. It's baked on enamel & usually it's always is good shape , but things can happen in shipping to the dealer.