Question Regarding Softwood Pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Pel-Man

Jul 17, 2012
I am new to the idea of pellets. From browsing the various sources I am under the assumption that softwood pellets are a superior product over hardwood pellets. Is that right? What is the boards opinion on southern yellow pine as a pellet fuel? It seems to have one of the highest btu's in the industry. Thanks for the help!

We manufacture pellet stoves and throughout the years of testing various fuel can vouch for the fact high-quality pellets have a slightly higher BTU content. This is partly due to the resins found in softwood which acts as a fire accelerant. They typically also have a lower ash content.