Questions about woodstove performance Englander 13-NC

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pastorbmp

Dec 12, 2010
TN
Hello, this is my first year with a woodstove. I bought an EPA-approved, Englander 13-nc. I am having a situation that do not seem to be right and wanted to ask you all for advice.

One thing to know in advance. Since this is my first year, I bought my firewood. I know it has not been seasoned for a year. I am cutting and buying wood this winter - stockpiling it for next winter, so I will have some good seasoned wood!

My problem:

I can only get a maximum of about 3 1/2 hours before my fire is out. If I wait 4 hours to check it, there are not enough embers to start a fire back. That seems like an awful short time. What do you think? Will good seasoned wood extend that time?

Any advice is certainly appreciated. Thanks.

With fat dry hickory splits I often still find coals at 5:30pm from a 6am load.

How much air do you need to give the fire? Is it almost closed off once the stove is hot and the wood is fully aflame?

BeGreen said:
How much air do you need to give the fire? Is it almost closed off once the stove is hot and the wood is fully aflame?

When I have had some good, seasoned wood - I damper the air almost all the way down. This would give me my longest life for a fire. But, around 3 1/2 maybe 4 hours would be the most.

pastorbmp said:
BeGreen said:

When I have had some good, seasoned wood - I damper the air almost all the way down. This would give me my longest life for a fire. But, around 3 1/2 maybe 4 hours would be the most.