Radiators vs Baseboards

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

trehugr

Dec 16, 2007
Greenwood, Maine
I am planning to plumb the basement family rm and utility rm for heat. Are cast iron radiators more efficient than baseboards. Do they require the same temps as baseboards ?

Are you referring to older used ones? I am no expert, but looked into many radiators recently. I'll assume new baseboards versus new wall radiators. Baseboards are the cheapest by a good margin, up front that is. I know our kids (5 at 6 and under) trashed the baseboards in our previous home. Most baseboard heat is designed for 180 deg water, so I avoided them in the home we're building since I want to run my buffer tanks down to lower temperatures. Wall panel radiators can also run the high temperatures, but have more heat transfer surface internally and can run down to lower temperatures. If you design them for lower temperatures, you'll need more are larger panels. I looked at Biasi, Buderus and Myson wall panels which all spec out and look similar. I also looked at Runtal products which look different, are very rugged, but a lot more expensive than the wall panels. A typcal bedroom in the home we're building has a heat loss of 3,000 btu/hr and required a 22x48 wall panel with a supply temperature of 140 degrees. When it's not 20 below zero, I should be able to run my buffer tanks down even lower than 140. The wall panels also give me a lot of control over heat distribution. One zone upstairs has 3 bedrooms and one bathroom. A thermostat is in only one room, but diverters on the supply return let me