Ready to go next year if cut now?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Yarzy

Dec 27, 2010
Chalfont, PA
Everyone,

I am getting ready to order for next year 5 cords of mixed hardwood. I want to know if I am kidding myself if I think I am going to have good luck come September/October 2011 with burning this wood. This is my first year with a wood burning stove and since I was late to the game, I had to order "ready to go" mixed hardwood in late December. The wood is pretty wet when it burns for the most part (I think it is about 27% average), so I just dont want to run into the same issue next year.

If I get this stuff stacked over the course of Feb, do you think it will be ready to go for next season? Is that enough time? I also should mention I have a lot of living trees on my property so direct sun on the stack is going to be very tough. Will this be a huge issue?

THANKS!

You'll be far better off next year than you are this year. It would be nice to be farther than a year ahead, but one year is way above average. Sun is nice on the wood, but wind is even better. If you have a spot where some wind will get through the trees, that is where I'd stack the wood.

If I had space, I would try to get two years supply of wood in now, and then order a year at a time each winter.

You will then have the advantage of regularly burning older wood :)

GOOD TO GO!

Yarzy said:
Everyone,