Regency ci1250 temperature gauge

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Willgray2010

Dec 10, 2019
New hampshire
Hi,

I am new to wood burning, I started my first fire as I am wrighting this thread. How do you gauge the temperature on a stove insert? I have a stovetop thermometer placed at the top center of the door of my Regency ci1250. I also got one of those laser thermometers but I'm not sure where to take the reading from.I am afraid to over fire the stove. Also any tips and tricks for a newbie would be much appreciated

Thanks!

That's a tough one. The top of the door is probably the best location. If you can point your IR thermometer in the convection outlet at the stovetop that would work too. Have you watched this video?

That's a tough one. The top of the door is probably the best location. If you can point your IR thermometer in the convection outlet at the stovetop that would work too. Have you watched this video?

The flue outlet is blocked by the stoves faceplate, I guess I could leave it off for a few fires until I get to know the stove. Thanks for that video too, alot of good information in it.

Hi,