Removing frozen screws in a Vigilant

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Badgerdawg

Oct 19, 2010
SoCal Mountains
Greetings and hello! I am a newb here, been searching past topics for the last 3 hours...LOVE all the helpful information you share! I apologise if these subjects have been around here before, I REALLY tried searching first!!!

Anyway, I just picked up a Vigilant (1983) that I need to replace all the gaskets on. I am unable to remove the screws on the doors and the flue. I have tried penetrating oil for a week now, nothing is budging. Can I drill them out? Replacing with sheet metal screws? Any help removing these bad boys is appreciated.

Also, I have removed the body rust with steel wool and wire brushes. I really don't want to paint the stove and loose it's patina. Can I wipe a warm stove with Crisco, like a cast iron pan?

Thanks! Looking forward to hearing from you!

Badgerdawg said:
Greetings and hello! I am a newb here, been searching past topics for the last 3 hours...LOVE all the helpful information you share! I apologise if these subjects have been around here before, I REALLY tried searching first!!!

Anyway, I just picked up a Vigilant (1983) that I need to replace all the gaskets on. I am unable to remove the screws on the doors and the flue. I have tried penetrating oil for a week now, nothing is budging. Can I drill them out? Replacing with sheet metal screws? Any help removing these bad boys is appreciated.