Scrounging Wood Hardwood Flooring Ok to burn?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ReneW

Mar 14, 2010
Wilder Center, Michigan
Hello to all - I've been scrounging wood for the last two years and have a good years supply c/s/s. Just waiting for the seasoning to occur. Mean wile I just got a Pick-up truck load of "old" gym floor. This stuff is the tongue and groove hardwood that was a high school gym floor. All the nails have been removed and the finished side of the wood is peeling off a clear coat of varnish, ureathane (sp) or whatever they used to coat the gym floor with. I was just looking for any expert opinions on weather burning this "finished" hardwood would have any ill effects on the Cat converter in my Woodstock fireview.. Anybody out there ever burned this type of wood before?

Depending on the amount, condition and thickness of the flooring you could most likely sell it and buy another year of c/s/s wood! Just "okay" used hardwood flooring around here brings good money. Do you have the full basketball court??

ReneW said:
looking for any expert opinions on weather burning this "finished" hardwood would have any ill effects on the Cat converter in my Woodstock fireview..
I'm not an expert but I'm guessing that if you burn varnish you cat wouldn't be "ill," it would be dead. :gulp:

ReneW said: