Seasoned hard wood makes the difference!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

firebuckeye

Nov 18, 2006
This is my first year with a wood stove. I have been burning up wood that was in my opinion junk. It was soft wood, partially rotted and what not, stuff that was standing dead that I scrounged. Well I just switched to some locust that has seasoned for 2 years. Wow, I cant believe the difference. I was upset with how my stove was performing and heat output. Not to mention burn times. Well it seems almost all solved now with this hard dry wood. I am really surprised at the difference it makes. Is there really any need for soft wood in a wood burners pile? I have thrown big chunks on small amount of coals and still the stuff takes off well. I have cherry and apple for next year, that should be good to burn right? Is 10 months enough for hard wood to season if its been split for the entire time?

firebuckeye said:
... I have cherry and apple for next year, that should be good to burn right? Is 10 months enough for hard wood to season if its been split for the entire time?

I burn (black) cherry all the time. It's not as highly BTU rated as beech, ash or oak but it does just fine. Good to cook with too.

Apple is one of my "dream" hardwoods I cannot get enough of. Hard, aromatic and a premier cooking wood. You are a lucky man!

Most any wood split and stacked in sun and wind will season in 10 months, unless you're living high on Kaua'i (the wettest place on earth) or water your pile regularly.

Aye,
Marty