Seasoning Time Chart

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chris2879

Nov 8, 2010
Western MA
Not sure if this is a good idea, but i am new to the wood burning arena. Let alone trying to ID the wood, but the next question is how long it takes certain species to season. I do not like to post every time get a new kind of wood how long it takes to season (since time is never on my side). I was thinking if we can make a sticky that has a table in it. The table would have columns for wood kind, seasoning time in sun / shade / windy area, min/max/ideal time. I think if everyone fills in what the know, we can start a nice database of this information. What do you all think?

I think this was brought up previously and the general response has been there are just too many variables. For me I go by green oak needs 2+ years, everything else green I can get around here is basically ready to burn in 10+ months but if I can go longer then all the better.

muncybob said:
I think this was brought up previously and the general response has been there are just too many variables. For me I go by green oak needs 2+ years, everything else green I can get around here is basically ready to burn in 10+ months but if I can go longer then all the better.

That is a :zip: good answer

chris2879 said: